Garden Valley Technologies (GVT) held its 119th Annual Membership Meeting in-person at the Win-E-Mac School in Erskine on June 4, 2024. 206 members and guests attended the meeting and 39 people viewed the meeting on the Local Content Channels and from our website. Prior to the meeting, entertainment was provided by “Windblown” while donuts, coffee and lemonade were served. GVT employees were available to answer questions about the Cooperative’s many products and services, including a GVT Stream demo. Lunch was served immediately following the meeting and was catered by Erickson’s Smokehouse from Fertile, MN. 

The Annual Meeting began at 10:30am with an invocation by Pastor Pam Thorson of Grace Lutheran Church, Presentation of Colors by Erskine American Legion Post 596, and the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by the business session with confirmation, by Secretary Allen Paulson, that a quorum was present. Secretary Paulson also reviewed the Official Notice of Meeting and presented the minutes of last year’s Annual Meeting for approval by the voting members. 

The business session included reports from President Arlene Novak, Treasurer Lee Hoaas, and CEO/General Manager Tim Brinkman, who provided updates on Cooperative business. Highlights included an overview of the financial health of the Cooperative, three new broadband grants, the re-opening our Thief River Falls retail store, free public Wi-Fi at our local fairs, and featured a special guest speaker, Gannon Karsky, Chief Sales Officer at Fenworks, who spoke about E-sports.  

The election of Directors for Districts 3, 6, and 9 was an uncontested election. Incumbent Director Arlene Novak, District 3 (Red Lake Falls, St. Hilaire, Plummer exchanges); incumbent Director Larry Djernes, District 6 (Clearbrook, Gonvick, Leonard exchanges); and incumbent Director Ron Kiesow, District 9 (Gatzke, Goodridge, Grygla, Gully exchanges) were all deemed elected by acclamation as unopposed candidates and will each serve a 3-year term. 

Attendees received their choice of a GVT branded ice cream scoop or a tea towel with an image of our headquarters as the gift and were entered into a drawing for a chance to win several great door prizes. The grand prize, a $150 GVT Bill Credit, was randomly drawn from our full membership and awarded to GVT member, Marvlyn Stromstad of Beltrami.  

GRAND PRIZE: $150 GVT Bill Credit – Marvlyn Stromstad  
$100 Visa Gift Card (Calix) – Pamela Thorson  
$25 Ness Cafe Gift Card (CNS) – Renee Howe, Patricia Proulx  
$50 Amazon Gift Card (Innovative Systems) – Duane Kaul, George Sturgeon  
$50 Amazon Gift Card (Olsen Thielen) – Ray Sevald, Carol Osmondson, Del Hemmingsen, Mary Lou Schmitz  
$50 Amazon Gift Card (Pinnacle Marketing Group) – Craig Burslie  
$50 Visa Gift Card (Calix) – MaryAnn Lambert, Bonnie Strand, Cherie Lerfald  
Acurite Digital Rain Gauge – Allen Salverson  
Amazon Fire TV Stick – Jerry Frietag  
Dock It Grab-and-Go Charger – Audrey Bachand  
Floral Arrangement – Chrissy Munter  
GVT 4-in-1 Fast Charger – Mae Gjerstad, David Sweno  
GVT Duffle Bag – Curtis Beyer  
GVT Golf Balls – Mrs. George Sturgeon  
GVT Travel Blanket & Thermos – Nissa Sturgeon, Joyce Sultvedt  
GVT Waterproof Speaker – Marlene Quick, Allen Remick  
GVT Yeti Mug – Lori Hole, Allison Holmes, Patty Piche  
Streaming Basket – Sandra Olson  
Sway Magnetic LED Speaker – Sharon Riendeau  
Kids Prizes 
Sway Dog Speaker – Mackalya 
5-in-1 STEM Building Toy – L.J. Phillips  
Apple Air Tag – Alanna Willis 

Hidden Crowdfiber form